Strike A Pose

This is one of those photos that I love, but that can get lost in a layout. I love where the rhino is standing and seeing how small she is compared to the fencing. If I cropped the photo I’d loose the sense of scale that the fence gives, but by keeping it in she is a small part of the photo. I needed to find a way to scrap the photo that looked finished, but that didn’t overwhelm the subject of the photo.

Strike A Pose

Strike A Pose

tlun 2014-07-09 strikeapose 04

The patterned paper I picked has a soft colourway, a slightly tribal feel, and I oriented it so that the pattern was vertical and mirrored the fencing in the photo. I knew that shades of grey wouldn’t overwhelm the photo, and the addition of mottled pale pink and yellow added interest and variety without being distracting. The mottled colours also mimicked the dappled light in the photo. That too helped the papers blend with the background in the photo, letting the beautiful little rhino stand out.


Products:

  • Recollections grey cardstock
  • Pink Paislee, Color Wash, Spectrum
  • Heidi Swapp, Color Magic, Paper Goods Ephemera Pack
  • watercolour paint
  • Memento, Tuxedo Black ink
  • My Mind’s Eye, Wicked, Enamel Dots
  • fonts: Salaryman (title), Architects Daughter (journalling)
  • misc: date stamp, washi tape

 

Leave a Reply

