Waiting On A Train

Today’s layout was inspired by MME’s July Sketch Challenge. I had a difficult time with this sketch. I don’t usually leave so much space between embellishments, but it’s a look I love. I thought this challenge would be a great way to push my comfort zone. It’s too early for me to say whether I’ll be using this style in future projects, but I love trying new things.

Waiting On A Train

Waiting On A Train

tlun 2014-07-22 waitingonatrain 07I decided to use three photos, and mat them on some grey and white patterned paper. In the end, I also matted the first photo on some dark teal paper because I felt like the right side of the page was too heavy. That little bit of a darker colour on the left helps to balance things out. Behind the matted photos I used some grey watercolour paint to create a puddle of colour. I used a heavyweight white cardstock so there was a bit of warping, but nothing that won’t lay flat once it’s in an album. One trick I do use for minimizing warping is to dry the paper on both sides with my heat gun. Heating from both sides means that both sides dry and shrink at the same time. Another trick is to lightly mist the back of the paper so that it expands too. Then tuck the paper under your craft mat, and stack some punches on top to weigh it all down. As the paper dries, it keeps it’s flattened shape.


Products:

  • American Crafts white cardstock
  • MME, Cut & Paste, Charm 6×6 paper pad
  • MME, My Girl, 6×6 paper pad (small chevrons)
  • MME, Collectable, Chipboard Shapes
  • MME, Lost & Found Two, Label Stickers (label edges)
  • MME, Market Street, 3×4 Double Sided Cards
  • MME, Market Street, Decorative Brads
  • MME, Necessities, Teals, Brads
  • October Afternoon, Farmhouse, Screen Door Sprinklers
  • October Afternoon, Woodland Park, Springs Sprinklers
  • Martha Stewart Label Stickers
  • Memento, Tuxedo Black ink
  • Kate Spade Rotating Stamp
  • Amy Tangerine, Yes Please, Roller Stamp
  • EK Success, Sticko, Aristocrat Alpha Sm.
  • Basic Grey, bba-4024, letter stickers

 

Leave a Reply

