River

These are some of my favourite photos, that just happened to take me seven years to do anything with…LOL This was part of a Mother’s Day outing to Niagara Falls. We wanted to see some of the attractions that we hadn’t seen before, and the White Water Walk sounded like a little gem. It absolutely was! You’re right at the edge of the river and because of the gorge walls and the sound of the water, you can’t hear civilization. You get that wonderful ‘escape in the city’ feeling. It was also a hot day, and the combination of shade and mist made it a lovely break from the heat.

River

River

tlun 2014-08 river 04When I was going through all the photos I took – and I took A LOT, I couldn’t find any that I could line up to make a sort of panoramic shot. The closest I could get was these three, so I printed them out and hoped I could somehow make them work. They don’t completely line up, but tilting them at slight angles to each other helps hide that… I think…LOL I decided to also keep everything on the horizontal axis. The photos created a strong horizontal feature, and I worried that if I added vertical elements the layout would become too busy. Of course, that didn’t apply to the title. I fell in love with these letters because of their colour and translucency, but they were a bit too large for me to use on the horizontal. Putting them on the vertical also let me balance out the embellishments on the top left of the page.


Products:

  • Recollections kraft cardstock
  • Crate Paper, Maggie Holmes, Styleboard 12×12 paper pad
  • Crate Paper, Maggie Holmes, Styleboard, Sticky Notes
  • Crate Paper, Maggie Holmes, Ephemera Pack
  • Recollections, paper doily
  • Heidi Swapp, Alphabet letters
  • Studio Calico, plastic arrow
  • Studio Calico, Wood Veneer, Transportation Shapes
  • Marvy, Wood Stain Marker, Dark Brown
  • EK Success, Tag punch
  • Martha Stewart, Scalloped Circle punch
  • We R Memory Keepers, Tab File punch
  • Tim Holtz, Tiny Attacher
  • Memento, Tuxedo Black ink
  • date stamp, washi tape, vellum scraps

 

 

Leave a Reply

