Boathouse: Buffalo

On a trip to Buffalo, New York, we stopped by the then newly built boathouse. It hadn’t been opened to the public yet but when we stopped by, a member of the building committee was on site and asked us if we wanted to take a look inside. It was wonderful luck – I love Frank Lloyd Wright, and to be one of the first to walk through one of his buildings was such a privilege. The boathouse is used for rowing, and also community and private events. More information can be found on their website.

Boathouse: Buffalo

Boathouse: Buffalo

tlun 2014-09 boathousebuffalo 04

This layout is the first I made using the Tim Holtz Distress Marker Spritzer that I wrote about on Tuesday (you can check out my review of it here). I love the idea of using graph paper for the background, and how the mist from Copic markers mimic the main tones in the photo. Before I attached anything to the graph paper I used a typewriter to add some journalling. The photo represents the process of designing and constructing a building to me, so I wanted the layout to have a documented, office-y (okay, not a word), feel to it. I also knew I wanted to include some of Frank Lloyd Wright’s signature colour – Cherokee Red (Pittsburgh Paints Color #6432-7). An office supply tag was the perfect way to introduce the colour and it worked with the office-y (sorry, it’s all I got), feel. To make sure the red on the tag didn’t look out of place, I also used it for the title.


Products:

  • Studio Calico, Journal Kit, ledger/graph paper
  • Recollections, grey cardstock
  • Tim Holtz, Distress Marker Spritzer
  • Studio Calico, Mister Huey’s, Elongated Hexagons mask
  • Copic, B34 Manganese Blue
  • Copic, B99 Agate
  • Copic, W3 Warm Grey No. 3
  • Copic, W6 Warm Grey No. 6
  • Staples, Shipping Tag, Size 1
  • Simple Stories, Urban Traveller, Expressions Cardstock Stickers
  • Tim Holtz, idea-ology, Label Letters
  • My Mind’s Eye, Wicked, black enamel dots
  • washi tape, roller date stamp, Memento Tuxedo Black ink

 

Leave a Reply

