Bloom & Grow

This is another photograph that I took at the Floral Showhouse in Niagara Falls that I mentioned last week. The variety of mums that were on display was amazing. I love the lines and geometric feel of the spider mums – so incredible all the shapes that occur in nature.

Bloom & Grow

Bloom & Grow

tlun 2015-03 bloomandgrow 04I wanted to create a geometric and graphic layout to go along with this photo, and the black, white, and gold, art deco style print was exactly what I was looking for. I didn’t want the layout to be too dark, so I added in a grey and pale cream geometric, and some crisp, pure white. I like sticking to fairly narrow colourways (although I do try and push myself out of that habit every once in a while), but not with this layout. The black, grey, cream, and white, with small touches of yellow and gold, perfectly fit the mood I wanted. And the variety of neutral rhinestones adds interest without adding distraction – and I just love the bit of sparkle and dimension they bring.


Products:

  • American Crafts, white cardstock
  • Crate Paper, Notes & Things, Memo
  • Basic Grey, Aurora, Cassiopeia
  • Recollections, vellum
  • Basic Grey, Aurora, Die Cut Cardstock & Transparencies
  • Basic Grey, Chip Stickers, Cappella
  • American Crafts, Thickers, “Cecily” silver
  • Heidi Swapp, Color Shine, Bronzer
  • Zig, Wink of Stella, clear
  • Lawn Fawn, Smitty’s ABC’s, alphabet clear stamps
  • Tsukineko, Memento, Tuxedo Black ink
  • Tim Holtz, Tiny Attacher
  • Imaginisce, rhinestone heat setting tool
  • Imaginisce, heat set pearl rhinestones
  • misc rhinestones
  • date stamp
  • black photo corners
4 thoughts on “Bloom & Grow

  1. Lovely page, I too enjoy those Spider Mums they really are very fascinating. I love how you matted the picture with a yellow gold tone, it really makes the photo pop off the page.

Leave a Reply

